3 day trips from Bilbao – part I.

Gaztelugatxe

In my last article I mentioned we spent our last year summer holidays in northern Spain, where we rented a car for three days. Today I would like to share with you my tips what to visit around Bilbao. We planned our trips as follows:

Day 1 – east coast (from Bilbao to San Sebastian)

Day 2 – west coast (from Biblao to Santander)

Day 3 – inland (Rioja)

In this post I will cover first day, when we visited the most. Our first stop was charming coastal town San Sebastián. This town lives mainly from tourism, various festivals are held here and is often visited. There is famous city beach called La Concha which is lined by promenade filled by restaurants and souvenir shops. We were not so lucky with the weather, but I liked the city anyway. I can imagine to spend there few days of holidays.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About 40 minutes’ drive from San Sebastián is the small town called Zumaia, which is attractive mainly by beautiful beach with some kind of stone phenomena. I’ve never seen anything like this! Above the beach is a small bar, I recommend you to stop here for a while, have a cup of coffee and enjoy the view of this unusual beach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During our trips we were choosing mainly roads right by the coast, the views were incredible!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next we stopped at Playa de Laga, where we finally have got better weather. I did not find much about this beach, I discovered it via Google Maps and I liked the added images . For the moment we sat down on the beach, ate sandwiches from home and enjoyed the sunshine and the sound of the sea.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The penultimate stop of the first day was the Santa Katalina Baseliza in the small town called Mundaka. The city is known worldwide especially among surfers, apparently there are some of the biggest waves in the world.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The best for the end! Island Gaztelugatxe I liked from all these wonderful places the most. This place is located 30 km from Bilbao and buses run here as well. A man has to walk a bit (the last picture is taken from the parking lot, then the path is closed for cars). The walk to the island took us about 30 minutes and the way up to the church on 241 steps perhaps even longer (if you like taking pictures you understand 🙂 ) I suggest you to come here about three hours prior sunset, you will not regret it! As a fan of Game of Thrones I was pleased by the news that there were filmed some scenes from the new 7th season. I can not wait! (they filmed also on the previously mentioned Zumaia beach)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now I find it incredible that we have visited so many different and wonderful places in one day! How do you like the north of Spain? Would you come here for holidays?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “3 day trips from Bilbao – part I.

Leave a Reply

